#1 savings pickElevault High Yield SavingsElevault · 4.34% APY · 4.34% APY · $0 to open · Rated 4.6 / 5Read our review →
CDs guide

Best 6 Month CD Rates

The best 6 month CD rates from the banks and credit union we track, with minimums, penalties and when a 6 month CD beats a high yield savings account.

Accounts in this guide
Happen Bank logoHappen Bank CD4.76% Top CD APYas of Oct 27, 2026Learn more Read review
Ivy Bank logoIvy Bank CDs4.25% Top CD APYas of Sep 22, 2026Learn more Read review
E*TRADE logoE*TRADE CDs (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)4.80% Top CD APYas of Oct 28, 2026Learn more Read review
Synchrony logoSynchrony Bank CDs4.75% Top CD APYas of Oct 28, 2026Learn more Read review

How we make money: Some links on this page may earn us a commission. That never affects our scores or the order of our picks, which follow our published methodology. Advertiser disclosure

Happen Bank pays the highest 6 month CD rate we track: 4.40% APY, with a $500 minimum deposit. Next are Popular Direct at 4.35% ($10,000 minimum), Ivy Bank at 4.25% and E*TRADE at 4.20%. The best 6 month rates with no minimum deposit are E*TRADE and Synchrony at 4.20%. The national average 6 month CD pays 1.39%. Every rate was checked at each bank’s own website between Oct 19 and Oct 27, 2026; the table shows the date each bank says its rate applies.

A 6 month CD locks in a fixed rate for 6 months. Below are the 6 month rates from every bank and credit union we review, sorted by APY. When two rates tie, the lower minimum deposit comes first.

6 month CD rates compared

CDAPYRate as ofMinimum depositEarly withdrawal penalty
Happen Bank CD4.40%Oct 20, 2026$50090 days of interest
Popular Direct CD4.35%Oct 19, 2026$10,000120 days of interest
Ivy Bank CD4.25%Sep 22, 2026$1,000Not stated online
E*TRADE CD4.20%Oct 20, 2026$0Not stated online
Synchrony CD4.20%Oct 27, 2026$090 days of interest
Bread Savings CD4.05%Oct 19, 2026$1,50090 days of interest
Barclays Online CD4.00%Oct 7, 2026$090 days of interest
Service Credit Union certificate4.00%Sep 8, 2026$500Not stated online
Marcus High Yield CD3.95%Oct 19, 2026$50090 days of interest
Capital One 360 CD3.30%Oct 19, 2026$03 months of interest
Sallie Mae CD3.20%Oct 20, 2026$2,500Not stated online

“Rate as of” is the date each bank says its rate applies. Peak Bank and Always.bank show rates as of the day you view them; we list the day we checked. National average 6 month CD rate of 1.39% from the FDIC, as of Oct 19, 2026. Service Credit Union is a credit union; its certificates are NCUA insured and you must become a member to open one (anyone can join free through a partner association).

CD rates change often for new deposits. Once you open a CD, your rate is fixed for the term.

The top 6 month CDs, in detail

Happen Bank CD: 4.40% APY

Happen Bank pays 4.40% APY on its 6 month CD (as of Oct 20, 2026, up from 4.30%) with a $500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. Happen Bank, formerly LendingClub Bank, accepts up to $500,000 per CD. Read our Happen Bank CD review.

Popular Direct CD: 4.35% APY

Popular Direct pays 4.35% APY on its 6 month CD (as of Oct 19, 2026) with a $10,000 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 120 days of interest. Popular Direct CDs are offered by Popular Bank in New York and need $10,000 to open. Read our Popular Direct CD review.

Ivy Bank CD: 4.25% APY

Ivy Bank pays 4.25% APY on its 6 month CD (as of Sep 22, 2026) with a $1,000 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. Ivy Bank is a division of Cambridge Savings Bank; you cannot add money during the term, and it is not open to California residents. Read our Ivy Bank CD review.

E*TRADE CD: 4.20% APY

E*TRADE pays 4.20% APY on its 6 month CD (as of Oct 20, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. E*TRADE CDs are held at Morgan Stanley Private Bank, and your rate is the one in effect when your funds settle. Read our E*TRADE CD review.

Synchrony CD: 4.20% APY

Synchrony pays 4.20% APY on its 6 month CD (as of Oct 27, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. Synchrony offers many terms, and you can add money only during the 10 day grace period at maturity. Read our Synchrony CD review.

How much does a 6 month CD earn?

CDAPYInterest on $10,000Interest on $25,000
Happen Bank4.40%$218$544
Popular Direct4.35%$215$538
Ivy Bank4.25%$210$526
E*TRADE4.20%$208$520
Synchrony4.20%$208$520

Interest compounded at the APY for the full 6 months, with nothing withdrawn, using the rates above. Illustration only; rounded to the nearest dollar.

What an early withdrawal would cost

On $10,000 in a 6 month CD, 120 days of interest at Popular Direct (4.35%) is about $143; 90 days of interest at Happen Bank (4.40%) is about $108. Penalties are usually charged as days of simple interest, and at some banks they can come out of principal if you have not earned enough interest yet. Banks that do not publish their penalty online give the schedule when you open the account.

How it compares with other terms

Frequently asked questions

What is the best 6 month CD rate right now?

Happen Bank at 4.40% APY (as of Oct 20, 2026), with a $500 minimum deposit, among the CDs we review. Popular Direct is next at 4.35% with a $10,000 minimum. The best with no minimum is E*TRADE at 4.20%.

Which 6 month CDs have no minimum deposit?

E*TRADE (4.20%), Synchrony (4.20%), Barclays (4.00%), Capital One (3.30%).

What is the penalty for cashing out a 6 month CD early?

Among the banks that publish it, the penalty on this term is 90 days of interest, 3 months of interest or 120 days of interest, depending on the bank. Check the bank’s account agreement before you open.

Are these CDs insured?

Yes. Every bank here is FDIC insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category, and Service Credit Union certificates have the same coverage through the NCUA.

Rates checked Oct 27, 2026

Compare today’s top savings rates

See the full ranking →
AccountAPYWhat it takes
Elevault logoElevault High Yield SavingsAPY as of May 5, 20264.34%No monthly requirementsReview →
EverBank logoEverBank Performance Savings AccountAPY as of Oct 23, 20264.20%No monthly requirementsReview →
Happen Bank logoHappen Bank LevelUp SavingsAPY as of Oct 23, 20264.20%with $250 or more in deposits each monthReview →
Bread Savings logoBread Savings High Yield Savings AccountAPY as of Oct 27, 20264.05%No monthly requirementsReview →
BankingPicks Editorial Team

We research US savings and banking products, check every rate against the bank’s own website and explain it in plain English. Editorial policy · How we rate accounts