#1 savings pickElevault High Yield SavingsElevault · 4.34% APY · 4.34% APY · $0 to open · Rated 4.6 / 5Read our review →
CDs guide

Best 9 Month CD Rates

The best 9 month CD rates from the banks and credit union we track, plus two nearby terms that pay as much or more.

Accounts in this guide
Synchrony logoSynchrony Bank CDs4.75% Top CD APYas of Oct 28, 2026Learn more Read review
E*TRADE logoE*TRADE CDs (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)4.80% Top CD APYas of Oct 28, 2026Learn more Read review
Bread Savings logoBread Savings CD4.85% Top CD APYas of Oct 28, 2026Learn more Read review
Marcus logoMarcus by Goldman Sachs High Yield CD4.40% Top CD APYas of Oct 28, 2026Learn more Read review

How we make money: Some links on this page may earn us a commission. That never affects our scores or the order of our picks, which follow our published methodology. Advertiser disclosure

Synchrony pays the highest 9 month CD rate we track: 4.50% APY, with no minimum deposit. Next are E*TRADE and Bread Savings at 4.40% and Marcus at 4.30%. Every rate was checked at each bank’s own website between Oct 19 and Oct 27, 2026; the table shows the date each bank says its rate applies.

A 9 month CD locks in a fixed rate for 9 months. Below are the 9 month rates from every bank and credit union we review, sorted by APY. When two rates tie, the lower minimum deposit comes first.

9 month CD rates compared

CDAPYRate as ofMinimum depositEarly withdrawal penalty
Synchrony CD4.50%Oct 27, 2026$090 days of interest
E*TRADE CD4.40%Oct 20, 2026$0Not stated online
Bread Savings CD4.40%Oct 19, 2026$1,50090 days of interest
Marcus High Yield CD4.30%Oct 19, 2026$50090 days of interest
Barclays Online CD4.00%Oct 7, 2026$090 days of interest
Service Credit Union certificate4.00%Sep 8, 2026$500Not stated online
Capital One 360 CD3.75%Oct 19, 2026$03 months of interest
Sallie Mae CD3.20%Oct 20, 2026$2,500Not stated online

“Rate as of” is the date each bank says its rate applies. Peak Bank and Always.bank show rates as of the day you view them; we list the day we checked. For comparison, the FDIC national average is 1.39% for 6 month CDs and 1.76% for 1 year CDs, as of Oct 19, 2026. Service Credit Union is a credit union; its certificates are NCUA insured and you must become a member to open one (anyone can join free through a partner association).

CD rates change often for new deposits. Once you open a CD, your rate is fixed for the term.

The top 9 month CDs, in detail

Synchrony CD: 4.50% APY

Synchrony pays 4.50% APY on its 9 month CD (as of Oct 27, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. Synchrony offers many terms, and you can add money only during the 10 day grace period at maturity. Read our Synchrony CD review.

E*TRADE CD: 4.40% APY

E*TRADE pays 4.40% APY on its 9 month CD (as of Oct 20, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. E*TRADE CDs are held at Morgan Stanley Private Bank, and your rate is the one in effect when your funds settle. Read our E*TRADE CD review.

Bread Savings CD: 4.40% APY

Bread Savings pays 4.40% APY on its 9 month CD (as of Oct 19, 2026) with a $1,500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. Bread accepts up to $1 million per CD. Read our Bread Savings CD review.

Marcus High Yield CD: 4.30% APY

Marcus pays 4.30% APY on its 9 month CD (as of Oct 19, 2026) with a $500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. If Marcus raises the rate on your term within 10 days of opening, you get the higher rate, and support is available 24/7. Marcus pays the same rate on every term from 12 months to 6 years. Read our Marcus CD review.

Barclays Online CD: 4.00% APY

Barclays pays 4.00% APY on its 9 month CD (as of Oct 7, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. You must fund the CD within 14 days, and you get a 14 day grace period at maturity. Read our Barclays CD review.

How much does a 9 month CD earn?

CDAPYInterest on $10,000Interest on $25,000
Synchrony4.50%$336$839
E*TRADE4.40%$328$821
Bread Savings4.40%$328$821
Marcus4.30%$321$802
Barclays4.00%$299$746

Interest compounded at the APY for the full 9 months, with nothing withdrawn, using the rates above. Illustration only; rounded to the nearest dollar.

What an early withdrawal would cost

On $10,000 in a 9 month CD, 90 days of interest at Bread Savings (4.40%) is about $108; 90 days of interest at Marcus (4.30%) is about $106. Penalties are usually charged as days of simple interest, and at some banks they can come out of principal if you have not earned enough interest yet. Banks that do not publish their penalty online give the schedule when you open the account.

How it compares with other terms

Frequently asked questions

What is the best 9 month CD rate right now?

Synchrony at 4.50% APY (as of Oct 27, 2026), with no minimum deposit, among the CDs we review.

Which 9 month CDs have no minimum deposit?

Synchrony (4.50%), E*TRADE (4.40%), Barclays (4.00%), Capital One (3.75%).

What is the penalty for cashing out a 9 month CD early?

Among the banks that publish it, the penalty on this term is 90 days of interest or 3 months of interest, depending on the bank. Check the bank’s account agreement before you open.

Are these CDs insured?

Yes. Every bank here is FDIC insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category, and Service Credit Union certificates have the same coverage through the NCUA.

Rates checked Oct 27, 2026

Compare today’s top savings rates

See the full ranking →
AccountAPYWhat it takes
Elevault logoElevault High Yield SavingsAPY as of May 5, 20264.34%No monthly requirementsReview →
EverBank logoEverBank Performance Savings AccountAPY as of Oct 23, 20264.20%No monthly requirementsReview →
Happen Bank logoHappen Bank LevelUp SavingsAPY as of Oct 23, 20264.20%with $250 or more in deposits each monthReview →
Bread Savings logoBread Savings High Yield Savings AccountAPY as of Oct 27, 20264.05%No monthly requirementsReview →
BankingPicks Editorial Team

We research US savings and banking products, check every rate against the bank’s own website and explain it in plain English. Editorial policy · How we rate accounts