Best 3 Year CD Rates
The best 36 month CD rates from the banks and credit union we track, with minimums, penalties and what $10,000 earns over three years.
How we make money: Some links on this page may earn us a commission. That never affects our scores or the order of our picks, which follow our published methodology. Advertiser disclosure
Popular Direct pays the highest 3 year CD rate we track: 4.85% APY, with a $10,000 minimum deposit. CFG Bank is close behind at 4.82% with a $500 minimum. The best rate with no minimum deposit is E*TRADE at 4.80%. Next are Synchrony at 4.65% and Bread Savings and Sallie Mae at 4.60%. The national average 3 year CD pays 1.39%. Every rate was checked at each bank’s own website between Oct 19 and Oct 27, 2026; the table shows the date each bank says its rate applies.
A 3 year CD locks in a fixed rate for 36 months. Below are the 3 year rates from every bank and credit union we review, sorted by APY. When two rates tie, the lower minimum deposit comes first.
3 year CD rates compared
| CD | APY | Rate as of | Minimum deposit | Early withdrawal penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Popular Direct CD | 4.85% | Oct 19, 2026 | $10,000 | 365 days of interest |
| CFG Bank CD | 4.82% | Oct 27, 2026 | $500 | Not stated online |
| E*TRADE CD | 4.80% | Oct 20, 2026 | $0 | Not stated online |
| Synchrony CD | 4.65% | Oct 27, 2026 | $0 | 180 days of interest |
| Bread Savings CD | 4.60% | Oct 19, 2026 | $1,500 | 180 days of interest |
| Sallie Mae CD | 4.60% | Oct 20, 2026 | $2,500 | Not stated online |
| Barclays Online CD | 4.50% | Oct 7, 2026 | $0 | 180 days of interest |
| Marcus High Yield CD | 4.40% | Oct 19, 2026 | $500 | 180 days of interest |
| Capital One 360 CD | 3.50% | Oct 19, 2026 | $0 | 6 months of interest |
| Peak Bank CD | 3.14% | Oct 19, 2026 | $500 | Not stated online |
| Ivy Bank CD | 2.75% | Sep 22, 2026 | $1,000 | Not stated online |
| Service Credit Union certificate | 2.35% | Sep 8, 2026 | $500 | Not stated online |
| American Express CD | 2.25% | Oct 19, 2026 | $0 | 270 days of interest |
“Rate as of” is the date each bank says its rate applies. Peak Bank and Always.bank show rates as of the day you view them; we list the day we checked. National average 3 year CD rate of 1.39% from the FDIC, as of Oct 19, 2026. Service Credit Union is a credit union; its certificates are NCUA insured and you must become a member to open one (anyone can join free through a partner association).
CD rates change often for new deposits. Once you open a CD, your rate is fixed for the term.
The top 3 year CDs, in detail
Popular Direct CD: 4.85% APY
Popular Direct pays 4.85% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 19, 2026) with a $10,000 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 365 days of interest. Popular Direct CDs are offered by Popular Bank in New York and need $10,000 to open. Read our Popular Direct CD review.
CFG Bank CD: 4.82% APY
CFG Bank pays 4.82% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 27, 2026) with a $500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. Its 2 year and 5 year CDs pay the same 4.82%. CFG Bank, in Maryland, accepts up to $500,000 per CD and allows no withdrawals in the first 30 days. Read our CFG Bank CD review.
E*TRADE CD: 4.80% APY
E*TRADE pays 4.80% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 20, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. E*TRADE CDs are held at Morgan Stanley Private Bank, and your rate is the one in effect when your funds settle. Read our E*TRADE CD review.
Synchrony CD: 4.65% APY
Synchrony pays 4.65% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 27, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 180 days of interest. Synchrony offers many terms, and you can add money only during the 10 day grace period at maturity. Read our Synchrony CD review.
Bread Savings CD: 4.60% APY
Bread Savings pays 4.60% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 19, 2026) with a $1,500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 180 days of interest. Bread accepts up to $1 million per CD. Read our Bread Savings CD review.
Sallie Mae CD: 4.60% APY
Sallie Mae pays 4.60% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 20, 2026) with a $2,500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. You must keep $2,500 in the CD to earn the APY, and it renews automatically at maturity. Read our Sallie Mae CD review.
Barclays Online CD: 4.50% APY
Barclays pays 4.50% APY on its 3 year CD (as of Oct 7, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 180 days of interest. You must fund the CD within 14 days, and you get a 14 day grace period at maturity. Read our Barclays CD review.
How much does a 3 year CD earn?
| CD | APY | Interest on $10,000 | Interest on $25,000 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Popular Direct | 4.85% | $1,527 | $3,817 |
| CFG Bank | 4.82% | $1,517 | $3,792 |
| E*TRADE | 4.80% | $1,510 | $3,776 |
| Synchrony | 4.65% | $1,461 | $3,652 |
| Bread Savings | 4.60% | $1,444 | $3,611 |
| Sallie Mae | 4.60% | $1,444 | $3,611 |
| Barclays | 4.50% | $1,412 | $3,529 |
Interest compounded at the APY for the full 36 months, with nothing withdrawn, using the rates above. Illustration only; rounded to the nearest dollar.
What an early withdrawal would cost
On $10,000 in a 3 year CD, 180 days of interest at Bread Savings (4.60%) is about $227; 180 days of interest at Barclays (4.50%) is about $222. On the same $10,000, 365 days of interest at Popular Direct (4.85%) is about $485. Penalties are usually charged as days of simple interest, and at some banks they can come out of principal if you have not earned enough interest yet. Banks that do not publish their penalty online give the schedule when you open the account.
How it compares with other terms
- Best 2 year CD rates: the top rate we track is 4.82% at CFG Bank.
- Best 4 year CD rates: the top rate we track is 4.95% at Popular Direct.
- Compare every CD we review, scored on rate, minimum, penalties and safety.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best 3 year CD rate right now?
Popular Direct at 4.85% APY (as of Oct 19, 2026), with a $10,000 minimum deposit, among the CDs we review.
Which 3 year CDs have no minimum deposit?
E*TRADE (4.80%), Synchrony (4.65%), Barclays (4.50%), Capital One (3.50%), American Express (2.25%).
What is the penalty for cashing out a 3 year CD early?
Among the banks that publish it, the penalty on this term is 180 days of interest, 6 months of interest or 270 days of interest, depending on the bank. Check the bank’s account agreement before you open.
Are these CDs insured?
Yes. Every bank here is FDIC insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category, and Service Credit Union certificates have the same coverage through the NCUA.
