Best 1 Year CD Rates
The best 12 month CD rates from banks and credit unions we track, with minimum deposits, early withdrawal penalties and when a 1 year CD beats a savings account.
How we make money: Some links on this page may earn us a commission. That never affects our scores or the order of our picks, which follow our published methodology. Advertiser disclosure
CFG Bank pays the highest 1 year CD rate we track: 4.65% APY, with a $500 minimum deposit. Next are Popular Direct at 4.60% ($10,000 minimum), E*TRADE at 4.55%, and Barclays and Sallie Mae at 4.50%. The best 1 year rate with no minimum deposit is E*TRADE at 4.55%. The national average 1 year CD pays 1.76%. Every rate was checked at each bank’s own website between Oct 19 and Oct 27, 2026; the table shows the date each bank says its rate applies.
A 1 year CD locks in a fixed rate for 12 months. Below are the 1 year rates from every bank and credit union we review, sorted by APY. When two rates tie, the lower minimum deposit comes first.
1 year CD rates compared
| CD | APY | Rate as of | Minimum deposit | Early withdrawal penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CFG Bank CD | 4.65% | Oct 27, 2026 | $500 | Not stated online |
| Popular Direct CD | 4.60% | Oct 19, 2026 | $10,000 | 270 days of interest |
| E*TRADE CD | 4.55% | Oct 20, 2026 | $0 | Not stated online |
| Barclays Online CD | 4.50% | Oct 7, 2026 | $0 | 90 days of interest |
| Sallie Mae CD | 4.50% | Oct 20, 2026 | $2,500 | Not stated online |
| Bread Savings CD | 4.45% | Oct 19, 2026 | $1,500 | 180 days of interest |
| Marcus High Yield CD | 4.40% | Oct 19, 2026 | $500 | 90 days of interest |
| Synchrony CD | 4.30% | Oct 27, 2026 | $0 | 90 days of interest |
| Always.bank CD | 4.15% | Oct 19, 2026 | $500 | 120 days of interest |
| Service Credit Union certificate | 4.10% | Sep 8, 2026 | $500 | Not stated online |
| Ivy Bank CD | 4.05% | Sep 22, 2026 | $1,000 | Not stated online |
| Capital One 360 CD | 4.00% | Oct 19, 2026 | $0 | 3 months of interest |
| Peak Bank CD | 3.69% | Oct 19, 2026 | $500 | Not stated online |
| American Express CD | 3.65% | Oct 19, 2026 | $0 | 270 days of interest |
| Happen Bank CD | 3.50% | Oct 16, 2026 | $500 | 90 days of interest |
“Rate as of” is the date each bank says its rate applies. Peak Bank and Always.bank show rates as of the day you view them; we list the day we checked. National average 1 year CD rate of 1.76% from the FDIC, as of Oct 19, 2026. Service Credit Union is a credit union; its certificates are NCUA insured and you must become a member to open one (anyone can join free through a partner association).
CD rates change often for new deposits. Once you open a CD, your rate is fixed for the term.
The top 1 year CDs, in detail
CFG Bank CD: 4.65% APY
CFG Bank pays 4.65% APY on its 1 year CD (as of Oct 27, 2026) with a $500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. CFG Bank, in Maryland, accepts up to $500,000 per CD and allows no withdrawals in the first 30 days. Read our CFG Bank CD review.
Popular Direct CD: 4.60% APY
Popular Direct pays 4.60% APY on its 1 year CD (as of Oct 19, 2026) with a $10,000 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 270 days of interest. Popular Direct CDs are offered by Popular Bank in New York and need $10,000 to open. Read our Popular Direct CD review.
E*TRADE CD: 4.55% APY
E*TRADE pays 4.55% APY on its 1 year CD (as of Oct 20, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. E*TRADE CDs are held at Morgan Stanley Private Bank, and your rate is the one in effect when your funds settle. Read our E*TRADE CD review.
Barclays Online CD: 4.50% APY
Barclays pays 4.50% APY on its 1 year CD (as of Oct 7, 2026) with no minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is 90 days of interest. You must fund the CD within 14 days, and you get a 14 day grace period at maturity. Read our Barclays CD review.
Sallie Mae CD: 4.50% APY
Sallie Mae pays 4.50% APY on its 1 year CD (as of Oct 20, 2026) with a $2,500 minimum deposit. The early withdrawal penalty on this term is not stated on its website. You must keep $2,500 in the CD to earn the APY, and it renews automatically at maturity. Read our Sallie Mae CD review.
How much does a 1 year CD earn?
| CD | APY | Interest on $10,000 | Interest on $25,000 |
|---|---|---|---|
| CFG Bank | 4.65% | $465 | $1,163 |
| Popular Direct | 4.60% | $460 | $1,150 |
| E*TRADE | 4.55% | $455 | $1,138 |
| Barclays | 4.50% | $450 | $1,125 |
| Sallie Mae | 4.50% | $450 | $1,125 |
Interest compounded at the APY for the full 12 months, with nothing withdrawn, using the rates above. Illustration only; rounded to the nearest dollar.
What an early withdrawal would cost
On $10,000 in a 1 year CD, 270 days of interest at Popular Direct (4.60%) is about $340; 90 days of interest at Barclays (4.50%) is about $111. Penalties are usually charged as days of simple interest, and at some banks they can come out of principal if you have not earned enough interest yet. Banks that do not publish their penalty online give the schedule when you open the account.
How it compares with other terms
- Best 9 month CD rates: the top rate we track is 4.50% at Synchrony.
- Best 18 month CD rates: the top rate we track is 4.85% at Bread Savings.
- Compare every CD we review, scored on rate, minimum, penalties and safety.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best 1 year CD rate right now?
CFG Bank at 4.65% APY (as of Oct 27, 2026), with a $500 minimum deposit, among the CDs we review. The best with no minimum is E*TRADE at 4.55%.
Which 1 year CDs have no minimum deposit?
E*TRADE (4.55%), Barclays (4.50%), Synchrony (4.30%), Capital One (4.00%), American Express (3.65%).
What is the penalty for cashing out a 1 year CD early?
Among the banks that publish it, the penalty on this term is 3 months of interest, 90 days of interest, 120 days of interest, 180 days of interest or 270 days of interest, depending on the bank. Check the bank’s account agreement before you open.
Are these CDs insured?
Yes. Every bank here is FDIC insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category, and Service Credit Union certificates have the same coverage through the NCUA.
